Going back to the basics

Rodrigo Nájera
2 min readFeb 12, 2021
MacKeyboardRocko2016

A little about me, I am a mobile developer, working as a Tech Lead at Citi Banamex (Mexico), for about a year or so I had the idea of learning a new programming language. As every developer out there I just kept stacking online courses where I just watch the first video and then forget completely about them.

The past week after lots of dismissed youtube ads I got curious about Pirple, so I enrolled to all of their courses (bought a bundle) they have some pretty interesting languages HTML + CSS, Python, JS, Java, Swift, etc. But what got me completely interested is the way they manage the courses, you have tests and assignments, you can not go forward to the last lesson or skip modules, this is something great (at least for me) because I gave my self the chance to go back to the basics and started again (Re)learning HTML + CSS and Python (more on python on another post).

The current assignment is to create a basic HTML page where I describe my favorite book, after completing the page they encourage you to create a post describing your code so you can help anyone else that is learning or relearning HTML.

So hands on to the code…

As you can see its quite a simple layout, we have a header a body that consists of two sections and a footer.

The code will dissected in three parts, header, body and footer. On the header we define the page title, the language and the metas. After that we set on the CSS styles within the style tag.

On the body we set the layout for the page, taking advantage on the previously defined styles. First we have the body tag and within we set the first element that will take a 100% percent of the vertical space this by using the header tag, after that its defined a section were two elements are fitted, on the left side there is the image of the book and on the right side the review. This is achieved by using the nav tag and the previously created style. and the article tag with its created style.

The footer just uses the previously created elements and a paragraph with the p tag

I am not an expert on HTML so if you have any comment or recommendation they are welcome, also I am not an expert explaining things on posts so any feedback will be great.

--

--